New trucking authority statistics
Updated . Source: Rookiefeed analysis. Covers September 20, 2026 to October 19, 2026.
FMCSA granted for-hire operating authority to 5,591 trucking companies in the 30 days ending October 19, 2026, about 237 per business day. Another 8,044 carriers filed new applications in the same window, and 375 freight brokers were granted authority.
Who uses this
- Factoring repsReach new carriers before their first load is factored.
- Insurance agentsSee who just got authority and who insures them.
- DispatchersNew carriers need loads. Find them the week they go active.
For reporters: definitions, a cite line and a state-by-state CSV are on the press page.
How many trucking companies get new authority each day?
About 237 per business day, 5,591 in the last 30 days. The busiest day in the window was October 9, 2026, with 832 grants. FMCSA grants authority on business days, so weekends are close to zero. Of the new carriers:
- First-time authorities: 97.9%
- Interstate operations: 99.4%
- Liability insurance on file: 98.9%
- Hazmat registered: 6.5%
- Email on the FMCSA registration: 99.8%
- Phone on the FMCSA registration: 100%
How long does it take to get MC authority approved?
Across the 5,409 first-time carriers FMCSA granted authority to between September 20, 2026 and October 19, 2026, the median time from application to active authority was 25 calendar days. Half took between 16 and 41 days, and 90% were active within 70 days. Authority can't go active until the carrier's insurance (BMC-91/91X) and process agent (BOC-3) filings are on record, so a slow filing stretches the wait.
| Measure | Calendar days |
|---|---|
| 25th percentile | 16 |
| Median | 25 |
| Mean | 34 |
| 75th percentile | 41 |
| 90th percentile | 70 |
Measured on 5,409 first-time carrier authorities, from the docket's first "Initial Status" filing to its "Granted" status change. FMCSA's own guidance is 20 to 25 business days once the application is complete.
Which states have the most new carriers?
By the physical address on each new carrier's FMCSA registration, last 30 days:
| State | New carriers | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Texas | 642 | 11.5% |
| California | 578 | 10.3% |
| Florida | 435 | 7.8% |
| Illinois | 344 | 6.2% |
| Ohio | 287 | 5.1% |
| Pennsylvania | 282 | 5% |
| Georgia | 207 | 3.7% |
| North Carolina | 204 | 3.6% |
| New Jersey | 169 | 3% |
| Indiana | 138 | 2.5% |
All states, each with its own page of cities, equipment and insurers.
What equipment do new carriers run?
Inferred from the cargo classes each carrier registered with FMCSA. One carrier can count toward several types, so shares add up to more than 100%.
| Equipment | Carriers | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Dry van | 4,893 | 87.5% |
| Flatbed | 804 | 14.4% |
| Car hauler | 439 | 7.9% |
| Hopper/Bulk | 419 | 7.5% |
| Reefer | 338 | 6% |
| Intermodal | 194 | 3.5% |
| Livestock | 86 | 1.5% |
| Tanker | 82 | 1.5% |
How big are new trucking companies?
Power units (trucks and tractors) on each new carrier's FMCSA registration:
| Power units | Carriers | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 1 truck | 3,747 | 67% |
| 2 to 5 trucks | 1,623 | 29% |
| 6 to 10 trucks | 112 | 2% |
| 11 to 50 trucks | 71 | 1.3% |
| 51 or more trucks | 15 | 0.3% |
| Not reported | 1 | 0% |
| Not reported | 22 | 0.4% |
Who insures new trucking companies?
The insurer on each new carrier's latest BMC-91 or BMC-91X liability filing:
| Insurer | Carriers | Share |
|---|---|---|
| United Financial Casualty Company | 682 | 12.2% |
| GEICO Marine Insurance Company | 471 | 8.4% |
| Artisan & Truckers Casualty Company | 449 | 8% |
| Progressive Northern Insurance Company | 226 | 4% |
| Progressive Southeastern Insurance Company | 223 | 4% |
| Progressive Preferred Insurance CO. | 221 | 4% |
| Progressive County Mutual | 199 | 3.6% |
| GEICO County Mutual Insurance Company | 184 | 3.3% |
How we count
Every figure on this page is Rookiefeed analysis, recomputed each morning. Brokers and freight forwarders are excluded unless stated.
- New carrier
- A for-hire motor carrier docket (MC number) that FMCSA moved to "Granted", dated by the day of the grant. Brokers and freight forwarders are counted separately.
- Window
- The 30 days ending on the newest grant date in the data (inclusive), so a quiet weekend doesn't shrink the totals.
- Per business day
- Total grants on Monday to Friday dates in the window, divided by the number of those dates with grants.
- First-time
- The docket had no earlier active authority.
- Days to grant
- Calendar days from the day the carrier first applied for the docket to the day FMCSA granted it. First-time authorities only, values from 0 to 365 days.
- State
- The physical business address the carrier registered with FMCSA.
- One truck
- One power unit (truck or tractor) on the carrier's FMCSA registration.
- Insurer
- The insurer on the carrier's latest BMC-91 or BMC-91X liability filing. Shares are of all new carriers, including those with no filing yet.
- Equipment
- Inferred from the cargo classes the carrier registered. One carrier can count toward several types.
Cite as: Rookiefeed, "New trucking authority statistics," updated October 19, 2026, rookiefeed.com/new-trucking-authority-stats. Aggregate figures are free to reuse with a link under CC BY 4.0. Also available as markdown, or as a Google Sheet that updates itself.
Want the carriers themselves?
Rookiefeed sends every new authority by 7am Central with the owner's name, phone, email, fleet size, equipment and insurer, as a CSV. Plans from $59 a month.
Is your company listed? Email hello@greatwork.company with your USDOT number and we'll remove it from our feed within 10 business days (privacy, why new carriers get so many calls).