---
title: "New trucking authority statistics, updated daily"
url: "https://rookiefeed.com/new-trucking-authority-stats"
updated: "2026-10-19"
license: "CC BY 4.0"
---

# New trucking authority statistics

> FMCSA granted for-hire operating authority to 5,591 trucking companies in the 30 days ending October 19, 2026, about 237 per business day. Another 8,044 carriers filed new applications in the same window, and 375 freight brokers were granted authority.

Window: September 20, 2026 to October 19, 2026 (30 days). For-hire motor carrier authority only unless noted. Updated every morning. Source: Rookiefeed analysis.

## How many trucking companies get new authority each day?

About 237 per business day, 5,591 in the last 30 days. The busiest day in the window was October 9, 2026, with 832 grants. Of the new carriers:

- First-time authorities: 97.9%
- Interstate operations: 99.4%
- Hazmat registered: 6.5%
- Liability insurance on file: 98.9%
- Email address on the FMCSA registration: 99.8%

## How long does it take to get MC authority approved?

Across the 5,409 first-time carriers FMCSA granted authority to between September 20, 2026 and October 19, 2026, the median time from application to active authority was 25 calendar days. Half took between 16 and 41 days, and 90% were active within 70 days. Authority can't go active until the carrier's insurance (BMC-91/91X) and process agent (BOC-3) filings are on record, so a slow filing stretches the wait.

| Measure | Calendar days |
| --- | --- |
| 25th percentile | 16 |
| Median | 25 |
| Mean | 34 |
| 75th percentile | 41 |
| 90th percentile | 70 |

Measured on 5,409 first-time carrier authorities, from the day the carrier applied to the day FMCSA granted the authority.

## Which states have the most new carriers?

| State | New carriers | Share |
| --- | --- | --- |
| TX | 642 | 11.5% |
| CA | 578 | 10.3% |
| FL | 435 | 7.8% |
| IL | 344 | 6.2% |
| OH | 287 | 5.1% |
| PA | 282 | 5% |
| GA | 207 | 3.7% |
| NC | 204 | 3.6% |
| NJ | 169 | 3% |
| IN | 138 | 2.5% |

## What equipment do new carriers run?

| Equipment | Carriers | Share |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Dry van | 4,893 | 87.5% |
| Flatbed | 804 | 14.4% |
| Car hauler | 439 | 7.9% |
| Hopper/Bulk | 419 | 7.5% |
| Reefer | 338 | 6% |
| Intermodal | 194 | 3.5% |
| Livestock | 86 | 1.5% |
| Tanker | 82 | 1.5% |

Equipment is inferred from the cargo classes each carrier registered; one carrier can count toward several types.

## How big are new trucking companies?

| Power units | Carriers | Share |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 1 truck | 3,747 | 67% |
| 2 to 5 trucks | 1,623 | 29% |
| 6 to 10 trucks | 112 | 2% |
| 11 to 50 trucks | 71 | 1.3% |
| 51 or more trucks | 15 | 0.3% |
| Not reported | 1 | 0% |
| Not reported | 22 | 0.4% |

## Who insures new trucking companies?

| Insurer (latest BMC-91/91X filing) | Carriers | Share |
| --- | --- | --- |
| United Financial Casualty Company | 682 | 12.2% |
| GEICO Marine Insurance Company | 471 | 8.4% |
| Artisan & Truckers Casualty Company | 449 | 8% |
| Progressive Northern Insurance Company | 226 | 4% |
| Progressive Southeastern Insurance Company | 223 | 4% |
| Progressive Preferred Insurance CO. | 221 | 4% |
| Progressive County Mutual | 199 | 3.6% |
| GEICO County Mutual Insurance Company | 184 | 3.3% |

## How we count

- **New carrier:** A for-hire motor carrier docket (MC number) that FMCSA moved to "Granted", dated by the day of the grant. Brokers and freight forwarders are counted separately.
- **Window:** The 30 days ending on the newest grant date in the data (inclusive), so a quiet weekend doesn't shrink the totals.
- **Per business day:** Total grants on Monday to Friday dates in the window, divided by the number of those dates with grants.
- **First-time:** The docket had no earlier active authority.
- **Days to grant:** Calendar days from the day the carrier first applied for the docket to the day FMCSA granted it. First-time authorities only, values from 0 to 365 days.
- **State:** The physical business address the carrier registered with FMCSA.
- **One truck:** One power unit (truck or tractor) on the carrier's FMCSA registration.
- **Insurer:** The insurer on the carrier's latest BMC-91 or BMC-91X liability filing. Shares are of all new carriers, including those with no filing yet.
- **Equipment:** Inferred from the cargo classes the carrier registered. One carrier can count toward several types.

Source: Rookiefeed analysis, recomputed every morning.

Cite as: Rookiefeed, "New trucking authority statistics", updated October 19, 2026, https://rookiefeed.com/new-trucking-authority-stats. Aggregate figures licensed CC BY 4.0.

---
Want the carriers themselves, with owner contact details, every morning? https://rookiefeed.com/ (from $59/month)
